Fried Chicken & Lentils

Everyday Life with Jodie and Susan

The Stuff of Nightmares

Leave a comment

I usually dream that the world is ending and I have to survive somehow, which is sort of a tired old trope in American movies and literature these days, so, for a refreshing change, my brain decided to give me a break and just let me get cancer in my dream last night.  Well, that seems like it’s not so bad when I wake up and am just myself, not dying.  So I looked up why I keep having bad dreams.  Turns out having bad dreams causes anxiety in waking life.  Nice one, brain.

http://www.scientificamerican.com/article.cfm?id=more-than-just-a-bad-dream

“The study, published in the journal Dreaming, did not bear out that hypothesis: not only did nightmares not stave off anxiety, but people who reported being distressed about their dreams were even more likely to suffer from general anxiety than those who experienced an upsetting event such as the divorce of their parents.”

 

But, I don’t have to worry because it could just be that something’s wrong with my brain (like I hadn’t already figured that out for myself).

“It is possible, however, that some-thing is going wrong in the brains of individuals who experience a lot of anxiety, so that normal emotional processing during dreaming fails, says Tore Nielsen, director of the Dream and Nightmare Laboratory at Sacred Heart Hospital in Montreal.”

Leave a Reply

